Skip to main content

Click Here for Medicaid Redetermination Information

Incident Reporting and Analysis System (IRAS) - Reporting Incidents

Reporting Incidents to IRAS

What Types Of Critical Incidents Must Be Reported?

The following types of critical incidents must be reported to IRAS. These incidents are defined and outlined in CF-OP 215-6.

  • Child-on-Child Sexual Abuse
  • Child Arrest
  • Child Death
  • Adult Death
  • Elopement
  • Employee Arrest
  • Employee Misconduct
  • Escape
  • Missing Child
  • Security Incident – Unintentional
  • Significant Injury to Clients
  • Significant Injury to Staff
  • Suicide Attempt
  • Sexual Abuse/Sexual Battery

The definition of each category of critical incident is also found in the Help Screens of the IRAS system. These definitions are uniform for all DCF programs and services.

When Must Incidents Be Reported?

For each critical incidents, an incident report must be submitted to IRAS within one business day. MEs must establish appropriate timelines for subcontracted providers to report critical incidents to the ME, and for the ME to submit the incident report to IRAS.

When a critical incident occurs, subcontracted provider staff should:

  • Take action to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of all individuals involved in the incident.
  • Contact law enforcement, emergency responders, or the Abuse Hotline.
  • Follow the incident reporting procedures established by the Managing Entity (ME).

CF-OP 215-6 provides additional guidance on reporting incidents.