Skip to main content

Click Here for Medicaid Redetermination Information

DCF Newsroom

DCF Logo

For Immediate Release: October 16, 2022

DCF Opens Second Phase of D-SNAP for Flagler, Highlands, Manatee, Orange, Pinellas, and St. Johns Counties on Monday, October 17

TALLAHASSEE, Fla – — Today, Department of Children and Families (DCF) Secretary Shevaun Harris announced that the second phase of the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) will open on Monday, October 17 for Flagler, Highlands, Manatee, Orange, Pinellas, and St. Johns counties. D-SNAP provides food assistance for individuals and families impacted by Hurricane Ian and who are not receiving food assistance benefits through the regular Supplemental Nutrition Program (SNAP).

“The first week of D-SNAP has been highly successful with nearly 100,000 pre-registrations,” said Secretary Shevaun Harris. “I encourage everyone to take advantage of the virtual/telephonic option so that we can provide you with the quickest service possible. The process is simple, saves times, and avoids applicants from having to attend an in-person D-SNAP event. Our team at the Department remains committed to providing Floridians with support they need following Hurricane Ian.”

D-SNAP is being implemented in phases and by county. Pre-registration is required by all applicants. Applicants can then conduct a phone interview through the D-SNAP Call Center or visit a D-SNAP event for an on-site interview. Phone interviews are highly encouraged to help expedite service to eligible households. DCF will host in-person D-SNAP events for residents who cannot participate by phone. On-site interviews are not required if a phone interview is completed. On-site D-SNAP event dates and locations in each county will be announced as they open.

Phase one of the telephonic D-SNAP implementation began on October 10 and concludes at 5pm on October 16. Phase one included Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Hardee, Lee, Polk, and Sarasota counties.

Phase two begins Monday, October 17 and includes Flagler, Highlands, Manatee, Orange, Pinellas, and St. Johns counties.

Phase three begins Monday, October 24 and includes Hillsborough, Lake, Osceola, Putnam, Seminole, and Volusia counties.

To view the D-SNAP schedule by county and details on how to apply, visit