

Commission on Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder

Meeting Minutes

November 29, 2023 9:00 am – 1:00 pm Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

Welcome/Call to Order:

Dr. Jay Reeve, Chairperson, opened the Commission on Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder (Commission) meeting. Dr. Reeve shared a welcome and a Happy Thanksgiving among the members. Dr. Reeve called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM. Dr Reeve asked Aaron Platt, Staff Liaison, to carry the rollcall.

The following members or designees were in attendance:

Jay Reeve, PhD, Chairperson (Governor Appointee: Apalachee Center) Representative Christine Hunschofsky (Speaker of the House Appointee) Senator Darryl Rouson (President of the Senate Appointee) Clara Reynolds, LCSW, MBA (Governor Appointee: Crisis Center of Tampa Bay) Ann Berner (Speaker of the House Appointee: Southeast Florida Behavioral Health Network, Inc.) Doug Leonardo (President of the Senate) Sheriff William Prummell (Governor Appointee: Charlotte County Sheriff's Office) Kathleen Moore, PhD (President of the Senate Appointee: University of South Florida) Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD (Governor Apppointee) Larry Rein (Governor Appointee: ChildNet) Chief Judge Mark Mahon (Governor Appointee: Fourth Circuit Court) Melissa Larkin-Skinner (Speaker of the House Appointee) Lee Fox (President of the Senate Appointee: David Lawrence Centers for Behavioral Health) Shawn Salamida (Speaker of the House Appointee: Lakeview Center) Secretary Shevaun Harris (Department of Children and Families) Austin Noll for Secretary Jason Weida (Agency for Health Care Administration) Uma Suryadevara, MD (Speaker of the House Appointee: University of Florida) Richard Duggan (President of the Senate) Wesley Evans (President of the Senate Appointee: Department of Children and Families) Richard Weisberg, CRPS (President of the Senate Appointee: Weisberg Wealth Management)

Review and Approval of the October 11, 2023 Meeting Minutes:

A motion was entered to approve the October 11, 2023, minutes. The motion was carried, in all favor. Minutes were approved with no opposition.

1. Introduction of New Commissioner:

Dr. Reeve gave a welcome to Richard Duggan. He provided a summary of the new commissioner's background.

2. Interim Draft Report Review-Open Discussion:

The Commission reviewed the interim draft report. The report was edited and updated by Staff Liaison, Aaron Platt. Clara Reynolds asked about the sample size in recommendation 2 to have a better understanding on the expansion. It was clarified

Members

Jay Reeve, PhD Chairperson

Representative Christine Hunschofsky, Co-Chair Speaker of the House Appointee

Senator Darryl Rouson President of the Senate Appointee

Clara Reynolds, LCSW, MBA Governor Appointee

Ann Berner Speaker of the House Appointee

Doug Leonardo President of the Senate

Sheriff William Prummell Governor Appointee

Kathleen Moore, PhD President of the Senate Appointee

Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD Governor Appointee

Larry Rein Governor Appointee

Chief Judge Mark Mahon Governor Appointee

Melissa Larkin-Skinner Speaker of the House Appointee

Lee Fox President of the Senate Appointee

Shawn Salamida Speaker of the House Appointee

Secretary Shevaun L. Harris Department of Children and Families

Secretary Jason Weida Agency for Health Care Administration

Uma Suryadevara, MD Speaker of the House Appointee

Richard Duggan President of the Senate

Wesley Evans President of the Senate Appointee

Richard Weisberg, CRPS President of the Senate Appointee



Commission on Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder

that the 988 centers were compliant with HIPPA and that they need to be considered as part of the system of care and part of the treatment process. It was noted that a request was made for other agencies to provide data about their own behavior health initiatives to be added in the report. Christine Hunschofsky recommended identifying the entity performing the gap analysis. Wesley Evans suggested including persons with lived experiences. Dr. Moore forwarded edits to be added by Aaron Platt for recommendation 11. Recommendation 12 was eliminated from the report.

A motion to accept the Interim Draft Report with additional edits was entered. Motion was carried with no opposition.

Dr. Reeve stated he would send the Letter from the Chair to Aaron Platt.

3. Subcommittee Structure of 2024:

There will be no radical shift within the subcommittee structure moving forward.

4. Public Comment:

There were no public comments to the commission.

5. Closing Remarks:

Dr. Reeve expressed his gratitude toward the commission and states he looks forward to meeting again in the coming year.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:26.