Contact

Brandie McCabe
Department of Children and Families
Independent Living Specialist 
850-717-4218
brandie.mccabe@myflfamilies.com

Reach Logo with three arrows pointing outward and on pointing inward and the work Reach

Supporting Foster Youth Reaching for Higher Education

Campus Coach Liaisons

Florida College System (FCS) advisors work with foster care students to assist with enrollment, completion of college financial aid applications and exploration of career opportunities.

The FCS advisors also assist foster care students by providing the necessary tools for their success in college and beyond, connecting students with academic resources, scholarship opportunities, community resources and other support while pursuing their educational goals. For a list of foster care student advisors at a FCS institution, please click this link: https://www.floridacollegesystem.com/students/foster_care_students.aspx.

The State University System of Florida (SUS) and the Board of Governors, is also committed to serving the needs of each student.  Listed below are contacts for homeless and former foster care students at each University:

FAMU
Dr. Jovany Felix     
Florida A&M University
850-599-3180 |Jovany.felix@famu.edu

FAU
Jasmine Briggs, M.Ed.
ACCESS Academic Coach/Advisor
561-297-6845 | briggsj@fau.edu
Fax: 561-297-3132

FGCU
Lauren Strunk
Case Manager, Student Affairs
Florida Gulf Coast University
239-590-1866 | lstrunk@fgcu.edu

FIU
Ana I Ramos, MSW
Success Coach, Fostering Panther Pride
Florida International University
305-348-6106 | anramos@fiu.edu

FPU (TBA)

FSU
Lisa Pessin,MSW
Coordinator, Unconquered Scholars Program
Florida State University
850-644-9699 | lpessin@fsu.edu

NCF
Jessica Maxon
Director of First Year Programs
New College of Florida
941-487-4548 | jmaxon@ncf.edu

UCF
Tammy Nadeau
Assistant Director
Division of Student Development and Enrollment Services
Multicultural Academic & Support Services (MASS)
University of Central Florida
407-823-1832 | tammie.nadeau@ucf.edu

UF
Leslie Pendleton
Director
Florida Opportunity Scholars Program
University of Florida
352-392-1265 | lesliep@ufsa.ufl.edu

UNF
Tom VanSchoor
Dean of Students
University of North Florida
904-620-1577 | tvanscho@unf.edu

USF
Makenzie Schiemann
Director, Office of Student Outreach and Support
SOCAT-Students of Concern Assistance Team
University of South Florida
4202 East Fowler Ae, SVC 2058
Tampa, FL 33620
813-974-6130 | mschiemann@usf.edu

UWF
Dr. Lusharon Wiley
Assoc Dean of Students & Director of Student Case Mgt Services
University of West Florida
850-474-2384 | lwiley@uwf.edu